Five Minute Friday: FIND

This one’s about that moment you think you’re really really lost, and then turn a corner…

This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is FIND. (You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

I’m asking God right now ‘help me to find the words…’ I know that I have something sitting in my gut, in my heart, something I want to express.  But how to put it out there in a way that will be helpful, encouraging, useful?

It’s been an amazing journey, participating with FMF and discovering that we do all find the words to say, somehow.  They’re not perfect, not always eloquent.  But they’re authentic.  They’re unique.  We each have a different voice, and find different words and angles on the weekly theme.  Every week… loads of uniquely different posts over at Kate’s around the one theme.

I think what I am reaching to communicate today is this thought: How strange it is to discover, after years of striving, that we are indeed exactly where God had intended for us to be by now, all along.  You know that experience when you’re travelling in a fairly familiar town, and then take a new road, and then drive round a bend and come out at a junction you know well from a different angle?  Oh! I’m here!

I found myself exactly there in prayer this morning.  It was a sort of ‘finding out where I was’ from a different angle – or, more honestly, discovering that I myself had been found – by God.

It’s just I hadn’t – for years – realised how found I was.  Or how close I was to my intended destination… and here I am, having come to it from a totally different angle, and my arrival at this juncture was quite a surprise! How did I get here?

STOP

It’s a common experience to feel anxious when we’re really lost.  Psychologically we feel miles and miles from home, even if we’ve only got another few streets to go before we know where we are, and realise how close to home we really are.  Finding our way can be like that – the experience of being lost goes to the deepest fears and anxieties any of us harbour.  But we’re never lost, never. God knows where we are.

In him we live and breathe and have our being.’ Acts 17:28

‘I will ask the Father and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever’ – Jesus, John 14:16

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: FIND

  1. I love how you described that “Oh I’m here” moment. I believe the answers for our life are right there all the time because God has planned our lives even before we were born. I am in a time of finding my next steps so your words really resonate with me today. The journey can seem long until all of a sudden we turn that corner and realize we are right where we are supposed to be. Hope your weekend is blessed.

  2. Isn’t it good to know others have the same experiences…? Keep trusting, Mary, you’ll come out into a clearing soon. Praying it will be sooner rather than later for you!

Leave a Reply

