Five Minute Friday: FAVOURITE

Who’s to say pink’s more beautiful than purple?  Or chocolate than vanilla? Today I’m taking five minutes again with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is FAVOURITE (well, actually favorite, but I’ll have to get over the fact that all my US friends don’t know how to spell it properly. Love you, really.  But we’re right. 😉 ).

(You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

pink anemone flowerIt’s amazing to me that there’s such a word as favourite.  What it shows is something really beautiful – that you and me – everyone – are completely unique.  Take, for example, a selection of flowers.  There are loads on display in full glory in the local garden centre.  What’s your favourite?

While the blue flower is blue, what makes it seem more beautiful to one person than to another?  It’s the unique eye of the beholder, and our unique way of appreciating and honoring beauty.  We see different aspects, and have a preference.

I must admit, I’m a bit fickle.  I have loads of favourite flowers, which sort of makes a mockery of the meaning of the word.  But I also think that it displays something of the heart of God too.

He looks at one soul, and says – I see beauty in you.  You’re my favourite.

He looks at another soul, and says – I see your unique beauty, too.  You’re my favourite.

Again and again, ‘You’re my favourite.’

That’s why I love anenomes and sunflowers and poppies and grape hyacinths and my pink geranium that grows like a triffid, and the lemon seedlings that are still just green leaves.  I love the fruit trees and the avocado plants.  The wheat standing and the barley swaying.  The leaf canopies and the yellowing grass.  You’re all my favourite.

Each for its own reason, each unique, as unique as the God who made them.

You’re my favourite.

STOP

 

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: FAVOURITE

  1. I love SO many flowers too! I never thought of the analogy as to the flowers being like us…God loves us each…and we are each his “favourite!” So lovely. I love the spelling of favourite too. Do you live in England or Austrailia? I’m checking in from FL. Your FMF neighbor, Jenn

  2. I love that we are all His favourites! Once the blood of Jesus covers our sin, God see us as clean and pure, and we suddenly become His favorite. Lovely post, Ruth. Stopping in from #FMFparty.

    • To think… God looking on us and saying ‘Awwww, you’re perfect!’ I was reading another #fmf-er’s post recently and struck by God’s great joy – delight – happy-when-he-sees-us. Stunning.

Leave a Reply

