Five Minute Friday: RELIEF

As pressure and stress bear down on me,
    I find joy in your commands.Psalm 119:143

This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate.  The word-prompt today is relief. (You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

Relief.  How many times I have felt relief, after my anxious mind has again been tormenting me with imagined fears.

I come out of a supermarket and can’t find my car… then I see it. Relief.

I leave work on a Friday after a difficult interaction with a colleague, and wonder, churn, speculate if the relationship is intact or not.  Monday he’s not at work, and I’m concerned.  Tuesday, we manage to exchange pleasantries, and I start to soften again.  Relief.  There’s forgiveness and understanding after all.

I hear a strange noise at night.  A burglar?  Trouble outside?  Malfunctioning central heating?  Checking locks and staring uncomprehendingly in the airing cupboard, the heart stops pounding, and I trust again.  Relief. All is well.  All must be well.

I’m anxious again… who knows why.  Sometimes it rains down on me like a mucky film of Sahara sand all over my landscape.  I long for a change of weather.  I long for a change in my constitution.  Where I got this nature, I don’t know, but it’s deeply embedded into my identity.  Is it possible to imagine that God can change my heart – change me – bring relief from this tormenting, perpetual, low-level anxiety?  Yes. It is possible.

‘Peace, be still’ by Susan Minteer

And so I enter into a lifelong pursuit of Peace.  I fight for it.  I cling to it.  Month by month, year by year, I discover this Peace is a person, not a mood or feeling.  I encounter Jesus as my prince of peace, and in his presence I find the anxieties flee.  Relief.

STOP

 

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: RELIEF

  1. “Month by month, year by year, I discover this Peace is a person, not a mood or feeling.” Amen to that. It’s a day by day, sometimes moment by moment choice to choose Him over the chaos and seek out relief. Blessed to be stopping by from FMF.

Leave a Reply

