Five Minute Friday: GOOD

Who is Good, really? Jesus said, ‘Only God is good‘, and so he shines a light on our own badness.  All of humanity fails the test. At this point, those who reject the Christian faith seem clear:  That Christianity is all about  beating yourself up.  It destroys self-esteem.  Who can live like that, snivelling for forgivenss all the time?  Even psaychologists might warn against it.  Madness?  maybe – so it would be, if identifying ourselves to the core as corrupt and broken doesn’t lead us straight to the Cross of Jesus Christ, where we discover how precious and rescued we really are.

This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is GOOD. (You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

(Well here’s an opportunity for me to do my own FMF on a typo again, this one might have been written entirely on the subject of Food.  But I’ll get with the programme!)

I’m living in a culture that doesn’t like to commit to GOOD.  Black and White isn’t the done way to look at the world nowadays, it’s all relative.  They say, Let’s not offend anyone by nailing our colours to the mast.Let’s not be bold, or confident in anything as radical as Truth.  But we know where that ends.  If there’s only more true and less true, nothing is true.

If there’s only better and worse, maybe we can kid ourselves about ‘good’ and ‘bad’.  It’s all relative.

My misdeeds could be reinterpreted as ‘not the best thing I did today’, rather than truly ‘bad’.  ‘Worse’ not ‘Wrong’.

This subtle shift is devastating.  We find ourselves losing something so much more, if we redefine Good and Bad.  If we lose the commitment to say ‘Bad’ is ‘Bad’, or ‘Sin’ is ‘Sin’, then we lose the chance to say to God, ‘I was wrong’ and remain forever in a place of excuses, ‘That wasn’t my best day.’

Just having a bad day and hoping God’s going to understand isn’t going to get us into heaven.

STOP

John Eldredge's book: The Utter Relief of Holiness - How God's goodness frees us from everything that plagues us

John Eldredge’s book: The Utter Relief of Holiness – How God’s goodness frees us from everything that plagues us

This week, I was entering into the relief offered in John Eldredge’s book ‘The Utter Relief of Holiness: How God’s goodness frees us from everything that plagues us’. It is an invitation into the relief of saying, ‘I’m wrong, God, You’re right.’  ‘You’re Good, I’m bad to the core.’  And in that place of giving up striving to keep it all together, we fall into the hands of God.  They’re merciful hands.  He really is Good, and he gives us His Goodness.

No amount of self-effort or personal theatrics comes close.

#fmfparty

Five Minute Friday

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: GOOD

  1. ruth, i’ll try again. i tried to sign in and sign in issues (my fault.) i’m not sure my comment went through. i enjoyed your post. there were some parallels with mine. it’s not difficult understand why on this good friday!

    how wonderful that GOD redeemed us during that wonderful/horrible weekend so many years ago! blessings:)

  2. Soooo much truth here, Ruth. Especially this: If there’s only more true and less true, nothing is true. Everything seems to be relative today, but it is not. Jesus is the truth, and I’m planting my feet firmly with Him. I have not read Eldredge’s book that you referenced but I do like his writing. I’ll have to check it out. Popped in from #fmfparty.

  3. Love this! The relativism of “what’s true for you is true for you and what’s true for me is true for me” is so stupid and foolish. (I know, how “intolerant” of me to call something stupid and foolish!) There really is so much peace and freedom found in submitting to God!

  4. Ruth,
    so glad to find you after you found me through FMF. The sisterhood is blessing me beyond words! 🙂
    There is such hope in your tease of a book review, which ties in so beautifully to God being good and how that frees us to rest in His goodness.
    He’s got you and me, sister, in His hands, He’s got the whole world in His hands.
    Love,
    Tammy (sincerity and hope)

Leave a Reply

