Five Minute Friday: VISIT

How do you feel when you return home after a long visit?  A colleague of mine referred to it as ‘heart-lag’.  This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is VISIT.

(You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

'Waking' Torii Kotondo 1932

‘Waking’ Torii Kotondo 1932

I sit in the strangeness of being home again. As I wake, jet-lagged and in a netherworld of dreams and dreariness, I could still reach out in my minds-eye and take his hand.  He’s only hours away.  But miles and miles away.

My eyes squinch and focus on the friendly familiar, but I don’t welcome the sight.  I long again for the freshness of the views I’ve just gazed upon.  The colours were different there.  The smells, the sights.  I’m so disorientated, I look to the doorway, and expect him to walk through – two weeks of closeness, and yet it’s not going to happen.  The sea separates us now.

What do I have left?  A well-worn path.  Clothes and shoes so comfortable that they don’t chafe.  The culture I know, which is invisible to me, but into which I fit so securely.  I’m home, and the walls of home wrap me warm.  I still feel lonely here.  I still long for the wild beyond, the strange and new.

But I do belong here.  This is the gift of my life, my own place.

I carry in my heart the vista of the visit.  But I journey from here in the healing of home.

STOP

 

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
Leave a Reply

