Five Minute Friday: KEEP

What do you have packed in your suitcase (real or figurative) that isn’t likely to travel so well?  This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is keep.

(You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

There are so many phrases that come to mind at this word prompt:

‘He will keep in perfect peace the man (or woman) who trusts in him’
‘Keep trusting’
‘Keep going’
‘He will keep you from falling…’

But I land on ‘keep moving’.  It’s not so much Biblical, but this is the phrase that resonates with where I am today.  There are some things, and people, and relationships that I’m having to let go of today.  God is moving forward, and he has plans for me.  I must keep following him.  I can’t afford for yesterday’s disappointed hopes to keep me from obeying him.  I can’t let those disappointments stay tucked away in my heart like rotting food in a suitcase.  Paddington might have kept marmalade sandwiches with him, but I think there are plenty of reasons why it’s not a great strategy for me, either when it comes to food, or feelings.

Keep moving.  Those who are also following the cloud will move with you.  Those who are travelling by faith in the family of God will be your company.  Those who are called to be in your field of service you will find alongside you.  But – I speak to myself here – whatever you do, don’t linger by the gateway, looking behind you, hoping for certain others to come too.  Don’t hedge. Don’t let your decision to move with Jesus be conditional on someone else’s choice to come with you.

STOP

There are so many situations when our freedom and choices are indeed limited by those we have covenanted to be with, and God honours our commitment to those covenants.  But he also sees our hearts, and knows if we are hanging back or have truly given him our wholehearted ‘yes’.

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: KEEP

  1. Just love this. It is exactly what Beth Moore said in her first video of the series I am taking. Sometimes, she said, we need a Remix. We need to move forward. God makes it very clear if we don’t move. Change is painful sometimes, but being comfortable isn’t what He wants either.
    Thank you for this thought-provoking post. I am following you from FMF.
    Blessings,
    Janis
    http://www.janiscox.com

  2. I love this post Ruth. Thank you for your comment. I like the point that we must not be consumed with others, but always speak to ourselves. We are responsible for our own lives, our own path.

Leave a Reply

