Five Minute Friday: ADORE

There’s somebody at the door…

This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is ADORE.

(You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

William Holman Hunt: Light of the World

For some strange reason this week, I read this ‘phonetically’.  A Door.  And I instantly see in my mind’s eye the Lord knocking at the door with no handle, longing to be let in.

“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.” Revelation 3.20

That’s what I long for.  Relationship with him.  I just recognise that it requires the door of my heart to open a crack, if that’s all I can manage.

There have been things and events this year that seem to have shattered my heart, to the point I think it can’t open up any more.  Broken-hearted, how will I ever manage to sustain a vital, adoring, whole relationship with God?  How can I silence the roar of complaint or lament that acts like static to my conversation with him?

There’s another promise,

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34.18

Well, I qualify.  You qualify.  We all qualify.  And that means that there is hope, there is a chink in that doorway, there is a way to open up to Him this Christmas.  He wants to feast with us, and we are to lay the table.

Because he is at the door, my heart hears his voice, and finds courage and strength to adore Him again.

STOP

 

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: ADORE

  1. Such a beautiful post. We all need to focus on God and His love to get us through difficult times or memories especially felt during this time of year. Your friend at #fmfparty.

Leave a Reply

