Five Minute Friday: DEAR

Some of the things we treasure are actually strangling us.  Other treasures in our lives we hold too loosely.  This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is DEAR.

(You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

Hidden treasure? It all began, Fenn says, more than 20 years ago, when he was diagnosed with cancer and given just a few years to live. That’s when he decided to buy the treasure chest and fill it with some of his favorite things.

‘Your laws are my treasure, they are my heart’s delight,’ says the Psalmist in Psalm 119.111.   His heart is captivated for 176 verses about God’s word.  And then the Psalmist talks more about who it reflects, the Law-Giver, than the word itself. ‘I reflect at night on who you are, Lord…’ (v55).

Treasuring the word of God leads us to good places.  We have it in our own language, unlike so many (of 7000 languages in the world today, only 540 or so have a complete Bible), and we are not persecuted for owning one.  But the ease with which we can take it or leave it means we often leave it.

Those without the precious words treat it as a treasure.  So very dear.

I think of many other things (and people) in my life that I call ‘dear’.  I must confess, I even cling to the people, or the thought of them, with an unhealthy obsession.  The psalmist’s words seem crazy to me (I mean, who loves the word of God like that?  Isn’t he just a little bit unhinged?).  But when I look at how I love other things and people to the point of obsession, an obsession that leads me away – not towards – the One I love, that seems to me to be crazy.

Gollum in Peter Jackson's live-action version of The Lord of the Rings. (from wikipedia)

Gollum in Peter Jackson’s live-action version of The Lord of the Rings. (from wikipedia)

Let’s take Gollum from the Lord of the Rings as a warning, caressing ‘my precious’ and withering in his soul by the day.  It would pay for us to chose the right things and people to hold dear, or we’ll find that our ‘treasures’ control and destroy us.

STOP

 

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: DEAR

  1. Ruth, what a lovely, yet convicting post. We must hold things loosely, while clinging tightly to Jesus and His Word. Over the past few years, I have truly learned that God’s Word is LIFE to me. Thank you so much for this reminder to cling to it.

Leave a Reply

