Five Minute Friday: Turn

Where do we turn when we’re overwhelmed?  This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is TURN.

(You can join in too – here’s how.)

GO

Red Slate Mountain (elevation 13,156 ft or 4,010 m) is still covered with snow in June.

Red Slate Mountain (elevation 13,156 ft or 4,010 m) (I’ve not been there myself, maybe it should go on the wishlist)

As I typed the title of this week’s post, I accidentally changed the order of the letters… and back from the page stared the word RUN.  Ironic, that the very word, TURN should try to wrestle off the page I’m pinning it to, and RUN in retreat.

I do that too.  Squashed and pressured in my circumstances, the only place I can think of going is away.  Fantasies of escape fill my heart.  And as I wrote already, that feeling of finding another environment is so often framed in terms of defeat and retreat.  To turn away is so often a sign of failure and inadequacy.

There’s another way to look at it, of course.  If indeed I’m turning towards the right thing, or person, it’s a necessary realignment.  If I’m turning toward the Sustainer and the Problem-Solver, it’s the wisest course of action.  If I’m running to my Source and Strength, I will run my race with strength and dignity, rather than get buried in my daily pressures and finally go under in defeat.

Psalm 121 says it well,

A song for pilgrims ascending to Jerusalem.

I look up to the mountains—
    does my help come from there?
My help comes from the Lord,
    who made heaven and earth!

He will not let you stumble;
    the one who watches over you will not slumber.
Indeed, he who watches over Israel
    never slumbers or sleeps.

The Lord himself watches over you!
    The Lord stands beside you as your protective shade.
The sun will not harm you by day,
    nor the moon at night.

The Lord keeps you from all harm
    and watches over your life.
The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go,
    both now and forever.

Whether I’m coming or going, looking up or down,  strong or weak.  He’s the person I’ll turn to.

STOP

 

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Turn

  1. this was a nice little encouragement. When you started with how “turn” became “run” my heart jumped. How often does He ask us to “turn away” from something and instead we run towards it! But what an encouragement that we can always run to Him.
    Stopping in from FMF.

  2. Oh Ruth, I so get this post. My family and I are in the midst of the tsunami of dementia with my Mother. It worsens by the day. Some days I just want to run away. I want the calendar to turn back to last year when all was well. Then, the Holy Spirit speaks into my heart and reminds me that He is with us. And my heart knows peace again. Beautiful post! #FMFparty.

Leave a Reply

