31 days / Five Minute Friday: CARE

This is the point of the week in this special Write 31 Days October that stars align.  The 31 day flow is briefly swollen by the surge of Five Minute Friday feeling, and we see if Kate Motaung can in any way stir the waters of inspiration for my monthly theme of digial REAL. So here goes with the #fmfparty gang as we write unedited today on CARE.

(You can join the Five Minute Friday part all year round too – here’s how.)

GO

I know I won’t be alone in saying I’m tired, too often. As if it’s not enough to be packing life in – laundry, cooking, commuting, filling up with petrol, making sure I’m insured for my next trip overseas…  (and I know I only do this for one – bless all you lovely readers who are managing households, raising children!)

How is it possible that we then ALSO load ourselves down with more weight, burden, responsibility in trying to connect and inform through the net?  Oh, I know I’m sounding like a stuck record now on this 31 day challenge – but again and again this deep ache rises in me for a better way to live.  I’m sad for and distressed about so many of us who are really, really, staggering under this heavy load.

I recently unplugged my telly.  Really.  I got about 40% of my brain back within 2 days.  Don’t get me wrong, I never watched much of it.  But how glad I am to have rid myself of adverts!

Mute buttonI’m in the habit of hitting the ‘silent’ button when the ads come on the radio as I commute.  Same issue.  I am so mentally black and blue I can’t take the abuse of another ad slapping me in the face.  It has started to hurt, quite honestly.

And the thing that hurts the most is that while I’m constructing new defenses against the digital onslaught, I’m actually concerned that I’m constructing barriers against my friends and others.  I’m saying ‘enough‘.  I’m raising my hand (‘talk to the hand’), but I don’t want this to become my entire identity.  I need to keep the right doors open.

The door of my heart needs to be open enough to care.  But that also means that the clutter in my head needs to be reduced enough to have the capacity to care.  Do I have enough energy to hear my friend, who for months has been working her socks of to pull off an event to raise awareness against trafficking, and actually care enough to remember when the event is?

Caring’s in the details.  Sometimes that’s remembering a friend’s big event, sometimes a birthday.  But my limited brain has only so much space in it…!

STOP

Afterthought:  The following scripture came to mind:

4-7 “Instead of giving you God’s Law as food and drink by which you can banquet on God, they package it in bundles of rules, loading you down like pack animals. They seem to take pleasure in watching you stagger under these loads, and wouldn’t think of lifting a finger to help. Their lives are perpetual fashion shows, embroidered prayer shawls one day and flowery prayers the next. They love to sit at the head table at church dinners, basking in the most prominent positions, preening in the radiance of public flattery, receiving honorary degrees, and getting called ‘Doctor’ and ‘Reverend.’ (Matthew 23.4-7, The Message version)

It just made me think how adverts and even the Facebook merry-go-round are tied up in flattery and fashion shows.  Trying to keep up with it all really does load us down like pack animals, and it can leave us as uncaring as the Pharisees without any thought for others, or for ‘lifting a finger to help’.

 

Read the rest of this series here.
< (previous) Who’s not at the party?
> (next) Digital makes me feel famous

#write31days  #fmfparty

Five Minute Fridayreflection150
4 thoughts on “31 days / Five Minute Friday: CARE

  1. Hallo Ruth, I’m visiting from FmF. We don’t own a TV and I’m glad we don’t anymore. Know exactly what you mean about digital ‘abuse’. You will like my post this morning; ‘Would you care for One day filled with little nothings of Pleasure’.
    Glad we met. Hope you have a quiet weekend filled with caring.
    Patricia
    http://mojitoandme.com

  2. Ruth, that was amazing. I know for me even this 31day challenge has caused distraction and stress. I see them as imagined deadlines that actually distract us from our actual reality. Your saying that it is all a “merry-go-round are tied up in flattery and fashion shows.” opened my eyes … WIDE. Thank you, I’m going to turn off the TV and get back to the necessary, right now, and I’m going to begin turning it off daily, I want to clear my head!
    Thanks for your wisdom. Blessings to you.
    Andrea
    http://hopeannfaith.wordpress.com

    • We’re all learning to fight new battles nowadays – and can help each other! Praying you’ll have a peaceful weekend with some more headspace. Thanks for popping by!

  3. Pingback: 31 days of digital REAL | Ruth Marriott

Leave a Reply

