31 days of digital REAL

Here’s the latest challenge!  After 50k words with #nanowrimo in November of the past couple of years, I’m going to attempt a blog-a-day for the month of October on this one theme:

digital REAL

I will be exploring how digital is making me feel and act.  I grew up without it, and I’m embracing – even enjoying – some of the changes it brings.  But in my view digital is sweeping some very good and important stuff away in its wake, stuff that I don’t want to lose if I can help it.  I want to keep my mind and heart intact.  But I also want the wisdom to know – to use an avalanche analogy – when to ski, and when to clear out of the path of the rumbling torrents.  There are some things I can really enjoy about this medium, but some things just come with the turf, and need to be accepted or best avoided.

I’m not writing alone either.  #write31days is hosted by the Nester, a blogger friend I met through the Five Minute Friday writers over at Kate Motaung’s place.  Kate set the bar high: to do a post a day for 31 days, and all in the 5 minute no-edit-don’t-overthink-just-write stylie.  A sort of #fmfpartywrite31days mishmash.  You’ll be getting a mixture of 5 minute posts and more meaty thinking throughout the month here.

Let’s look at the digital landscape together for a few days, and see where it takes us!

#write31days

http://write31days.com/what-is-31-days/

reflection150

36 thoughts on “31 days of digital REAL

  1. Pingback: 31 days: digital disclaimer | Ruth Marriott

  2. Pingback: 31 days: Thinking requires effort | Ruth Marriott

  3. Pingback: 31 days: Waking up to Real | Ruth Marriott

  4. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: NEW | Ruth Marriott

  5. Pingback: 31 days: Message to my digital self | Ruth Marriott

  6. Hi Ruth! I didn’t grow up with digital either and I love it. I love that we can reach around the world with just the stroke of our fingers. I look forward to your post. I am also doing the challenge but I am a little late getting to reading others.

  7. Pingback: 31 days: Digital makes me feel connected. Really? | Ruth Marriott

  8. Pingback: 31 days: being a bad Wizard | Ruth Marriott

  9. Pingback: 31 days: Digital rules | Ruth Marriott

  10. Pingback: 31 days: Social media and slaying the giant | Ruth Marriott

  11. Pingback: 31 days: Who’s not at the party? | Ruth Marriott

  12. Pingback: 31 days / Five Minute Friday: CARE | Ruth Marriott

  13. Pingback: 31 days: Digital makes me feel famous | Ruth Marriott

  14. Pingback: 31 days: Overwhelmed by God | Ruth Marriott

  15. Pingback: 31 days: Digital makes me feel rejected | Ruth Marriott

  16. Pingback: 31 days: Digital’s not the problem | Ruth Marriott

  17. Pingback: 31 days: Digital makes me feel overwhelmed | Ruth Marriott

  18. Oooh! I love this topic! Catching up on them. (Found you through #31Days) I too am a lover of all things digital, but there are definitely some hard things to carry along with this wealth of technology.

  19. Pingback: 31 days / Five Minute Friday: LONG | Ruth Marriott

  20. Pingback: 31 days: digital wars | Ruth Marriott

  21. Pingback: 31 days: Authentic community | Ruth Marriott

  22. Pingback: 31 days: The 10 commandments of social media | Ruth Marriott

  23. Pingback: 31 days: Hand-written treasure | Ruth Marriott

  24. Pingback: 31 days: Creative communications | Ruth Marriott

  25. Pingback: 31 days: Stuff you can’t do while taking a selfie | Ruth Marriott

  26. Pingback: 31 days / Five Minute Friday: DARE | Ruth Marriott

  27. Pingback: 31 days: Embodied | Ruth Marriott

  28. Pingback: 31 days: Who has control? | Ruth Marriott

  29. Pingback: 31 days: Digital makes me feel inspired | Ruth Marriott

  30. Pingback: 31 days: A prayer | Ruth Marriott

  31. Pingback: 31 days: Digitally dehumanised | Ruth Marriott

  32. Pingback: 31 days: On being still | Ruth Marriott

  33. Pingback: 31 days: Light out of darkness | Ruth Marriott

  34. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: OPEN | Ruth Marriott

Leave a Reply

