Five Minute Friday: TELL

What do we do when we find ourselves at a loss, at the end of ourselves?  This week I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write for five minutes flat out and unedited on a theme sent out by Kate Motaung.  The word-prompt today is TELL.

GO

Habakkuk 2:14 For the earth shall be filled with the knowledge of the glory of the Lord as the waters cover the sea.It’s been a horrific few weeks in the international news.  The secular press have no hope to offer, and in many cases only criticisms of the politicians who are faced with world events and decisions that are too great for any one man to bear.  It’s enough to drive someone to their knees, and I hope that’s where our leaders have found themselves – in the presence of God and his wisdom.

My job allows me little respite from the news – Sierra Leone, Liberia, Central African Republic, DRC, South Sudan, Israel and Gaza, Nigeria, Kenya, Iraq… It fills my screen, my Facebook feed, wherever I’m working, and the news is screaming at me with the screams of those who are persecuted or suffering.

Even as I talked last night with my Dad about the traumatic and horrific news of my brothers and sisters – yes, in Christ, my family – fleeing Mosul, we found ourselves in a terrible empty place, feeling helpless and overwhelmed.  Where to turn?  Once more, it was the comfort of God’s word in my language that came to the rescue:

‘Don’t worry about anything, instead pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand.  His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.’ Philippians 4.6

We are not God, and it behooves us to remember that in times like these.  He alone rules the nations. But I really have found the truth of this Scripture at work in my heart.  I am filled with God’s peace when I pour out my fears and anxieties and griefs into his presence.  He fills me with peace.  And then I am reminded of one more promise:

The Lord said, ‘truly, as I live, all the earth shall be filled with the glory of the Lord Numbers 14.21 and again in Habakkuk 2:14 For the earth will be filled with the knowledge of the glory of the Lord, as the waters cover the sea.’

STOP

Edit: I had a bit of a mixup on the prompt this week – but it turns out I did write about both TELL and FILL… Hope the post blesses you anyway!

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: TELL

  1. The post blesses – I’ve been going to scripture too because headlines have left me feeling helpless. But we aren’t helpless – It is good to be reminded that our prayers are powerful – are important – are necessary. And those prayers can be for our own comfort as well – God is always with us in the Valley. Thank you for writing this so well.

    • I’m just grateful that God takes our stumbling words (sometimes poorly aimed words) and still causes his arrows to fly and find their mark. Thanks for visiting today. x

Leave a Reply

