Five Minute Friday: Belong

Here we go, with our wild words – over at crystaline.me this week for the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty this week. This week the word prompt is BELONG.

GO

The Return of the Prodigal Son – Pompeo Batoni 1773

‘You are mine.’  that’s what he says to me.  And all my fear and fightings run for freedom, overwhelmed at the statement.  Repulsed at the ownership.  No.  I am mine.  All mine.

As I run, the knot in my stomach tightens.  Where am I fleeing?  Who can I turn to?  I run right into the arms of another… one who offers me freedom.  I am free to drink.  I am free to eat.  Free to do what I like.  ‘Free’ to make my own choices.  I am ‘free’ to make my own mistakes, and by stealth and patience, this other ensnares me, cord by cord.  The burden of such ‘freedom’ is oppression at its most fierce.  The entanglements drag me deeper, and I am overcome.  I am his – a slave, a captive.  I am angry at myself for being duped, for being overcome.  I fled that first ownership, only to run into the arms of one who imprisons me by deceit.

I collapse in fear and frustration at the reality.  I am not my own.

And as I lament my state, my heart recalls… that first whisper that he whispered to me even as a child.  ‘You are mine’.  The One who created me, who knit me together in my mother’s womb.  ‘You are mine.’  The call resonates again, and I wonder.  Would he have me back now?

The least I can do is turn again and see if he will…

STOP

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Belong

  1. Oh, and He will. Every. Single. Time. “Imprisoned by deceit”, isn’t that the crux of it all? Isn’t that what dragged down Eve, and every one of since then? Your words are full of wisdom and truth. Thank you.

  2. This is beautiful, Ruth! That fight of voices in our heads is so relatable…but o, how good to know that he will always continue to whisper that we are his. Again and again. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

