Five Minute Friday: Lost

Friday!  After a long and very different day, I settle back into these #joyful five minutes – five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Lisa-Jo Baker.  This week its LOST.

You can join in too – read all about it here: http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/

GO

Ridiculous anxiety.  I left home this morning, only going into London and I’ve done it a lot before.  But it’s Friday.  It’s 08:30, and I’m finding things to worry about.  Which station do I need to get to?  Where’s the building at the other end?  Left too late to plan, though I did print out a map (old skool low tech).  ‘Just in case’ I find myself in a mobile blackspot where there’s no signal and no GPS.

I was more equipped today for getting lost than I’ve ever been in my life.  And more anxious.  Gone are the freedom days of just jumping on the tube and reading maps as I go.  Of asking for directions.  Of working it out for myself without my phone saying ‘in 100 yards take the slip road…’

With all this ‘support’ why do I feel unsupported?  Why do I feel so lost?

Is it because I’m relying on the wrong things?  Without the ‘aids’ I would be simply childlike, trusting, and relying on real people, and a real God.  I would be more readily praying ‘Father, help me find my way!’

I have friends who live that life daily. Some are serving God in remote regions of the earth.  Some, if they got lost, might not find water, and be in serious danger.  Some, if caught out and in the wrong sector after curfew, might find themselves facing the end of a gun pointed at them.  I could idolise them… or recognise that they’re like me, just following God, and trusting in Him because he’s all they’ve got to rely on.

It doesn’t much matter if you’re falling 10 feet or 100 once you’re in freefall reliance on God to keep you and direct you, and catch you as you land.  The challenge is to let go in the first place, and entrust yourself.

When did you last go beyond your normal boundaries, and risk getting lost?

STOP

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Lost

  1. It doesn’t much matter if you’re falling 10 feet or 100 once you’re in freefall reliance on God to keep you and direct you, and catch you as you land. The challenge is to let go in the first place, and entrust yourself.

    Oh Ruth! Such truth in this. I’m so glad I let go! Happy friday! Or I guess it must be saturday for you by now. Haha!

Leave a Reply

