Five Minute Friday: Messenger

It’s Friday!  So I’m taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Lisa-Jo Baker.  This week it’s Messenger.

GO

single white feather - (c) wiki commonsIn this distraction-rich age, it takes a lot to get my attention.  Send me more email?  I don’t think so.  Tweet, Facebook or spam?  No thanks.  By the end of a Friday, I’m tired of the information overload, and ready for the weekend.  You’ll be lucky to get through to me.

But God has no problem in cutting through my information weariness.  His methods are so much more winsome, and so much wiser.

He can send a feather to float through the air towards me as I walk from one place to another, and I am reminded of his presence.  I’m reminded that I’m sheltered under his wings.

He can send a leaf floating down from the autumn boughs, and I’m reminded that he renews all things, and is at work in my life, even when I have to let things go and see hopes die – sometimes temporarily, sometimes forever.  I learn to trust him more.

He can smile at me, through the smile of a stranger.

He can strengthen me through the joy of the sunshine.

Every good and perfect gift comes from his hand – each one a messenger from heaven.  If only I would heed them.

Lord, my prayer is today that you would open our eyes to those winsome gifts of mercy that you send us – each one a token of your love, and a call to turn our eyes toward your loving face.  May we be stopped in our tracks, and look up.

STOP

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Messenger

  1. This is amazing: “He can send a feather to float through the air towards me as I walk from one place to another, and I am reminded of his presence. I’m reminded that I’m sheltered under his wings”. Beautiful imagery. Rosanne

Leave a Reply

