Five Minute Friday: Hands

Taking five minutes with the Five Minute Friday #fmfparty gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Lisa-Jo Baker.  This week it’s HANDS.

GO

heres-my-heartI don’t know why I come up empty on this word prompt this week.  HANDS? Maybe if we had had a prompt that was more intangible, like LOVE, or HOPE, I may have had something to say.  But HANDS?  I find myself immediately stunned into silence at how much there is about them, and yet how little I think about them.

When was the last time I paid any attention to them?  Real attention?  Yet from the moment I rise, they’re busy caring for me, providing food, drink, cleaning, sorting, carrying.  Silent servants.  How is it that I missed them?

It seems ridiculous to take time to see them, to thank them.

They’re not often empty, either.  Mainly just when I’m walking, sleeping, or praying.  In-betweeen places.  In-between things.  But it’s empty hands I must bring to God.  These hands, they’re sometimes too preoccupied.  They – or rather, that activity they maintain – get in the way of me giving real attention to my maker.  The One who really is constantly busy caring for me, providing food, covering, all that I need.  There’s a very real risk that my attention will go no further than the end of my arms, and that I think I’m self-supporting.

I’m really not.  I’m held in His hands.

STOP

#fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Hands

  1. So much wisdom here. I love this line: There’s a very real risk that my attention will go no further than the end of my arms, and that I think I’m self-supporting.” So true. See you didn’t come to today’s FMF with nothing, you came profound encouragement. So glad I’m your FMF neighbor today.

    • Thanks for visiting, Osheta – I never cease to be amazed at what an encouraging community the #FMFparty is! Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

