Five Minute Friday: Mess

Taking five minutes with the #FiveMinuteFriday gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Lisa-Jo Baker.  This week it’s Mess.

GO

Windswept tree

A tree I found on my travels. It also lives on ‘the edge’; and somehow illustrates how I feel when I’m in a state of growth and mess.

I’ve been living for the last two weeks out of a suitcase – and when I do that I have bags and bags of stuff lying around an unfamiliar bedroom wherever I’m lodging.  I have a pile of cleanish but crumpled clothes, a pile of not-very clean clothes, a bag of definitely smelly clothes… and that latter bag has been growing as my travels ensued.

Temporary, adventurous, out-of-the-familiar living requires such flexibility.  It somehow makes life easier, to have it all out on the floor, ready to hand.  I can only do this for a shortish period of time, but while I’m on the edge of the new, it works for me.  I don’t think I could live like that normally.

Back home, I have a system.  An order and a place for clean and dirty, for ironing (stifles  laugh), for drying.  I have a timetable and a time to be out of the door each weekday.  I have deadlines and routines.

The structure is orderly, but honestly, I’m not looking forward to putting on the straight-jacket of routine, after this freedom, liberation from the clock and the system of life.  Travelling and visiting and exploring sends the normal into chaos, but living on that edge, I find myself grow.

It takes mess to grow.

So as I think about returning to routine and order soon enough, I wonder how much mess I can tolerate, or even embrace, in order to keep on adventuring, and to keep on growing on the edge of my life.  When I don’t have the energy to keep on top of the process, will I choose to live more and fret less?

STOP

#FiveMinuteFriday #fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Mess

  1. Oh! I love that–‘It takes mess to grow.” That is soooo true! I love adventuring and travel as well, but being home in my orderly routine is so….comfortable. No thinking required. The thinking required to organize a mess must be what produces the growth. Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful time growing while on your adventure!

  2. Wow…I really like this. There’s some serious food for thought here. Adventure sounds better than organization to me after reading this. Excellent observation and expression. Great job.

    • Hi Lisa, thanks for visiting today. I had more than my share of adventure with a car breaking down on my way home today… hey ho! That’s messy! But strangely it makes me appreciate the blessings of my safe haven all the more, having conquered some stormy seas to get back.

Leave a Reply

