Five Minute Friday: Mighty

It’s #FiveMinuteFriday!  Let’s go… joining the gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Lisa-Jo Baker.  This week its ‘Mighty’.

GO

295strengthpeace  It’s been one of those weeks.  A week where we said final goodbyes to a dear friend and colleague, and I watched his widow nurture her three young children through the memorial service with tenderness, pride and mighty strength.

It’s the week that I was laid low with a horrible cough, and my dear 82 year-old neighbour called my phone to say she’d noticed my car had not moved and ‘was I OK?’  She can’t make it down the stairs from our first floor flats to help me or do any errands, but her mighty huge motherly love reached out to me and wrapped me up in tlc.  ‘I can always make you a cup of tea if you would like one!’

It’s the looming ‘Mother’s day’ weekend, when I feel the mighty huge loss of over 20 years… I lost my mum when I was 22, and haven’t known a mother’s love for most of my adult life.  That feels like a mighty big deal, on this weekend of all weekends.

So what do I do on such weeks?  Turn my eyes to a mighty saviour.  Think again of the huge heavenly crowds cheering my dear friend on as he enters the gates of glory and is embraced by a mighty great LOVE.  Remember what is really and truly important… a faithful life well lived.  And to remember, that no matter how puny and miserable I feel, I have a mighty God whose love for me is stronger that I will ever need.

STOP

Admission:  I edited this week, more than I should have – there was more in my heart and in my first draft than I felt able to say out loud on #fmf, and so I hid it behind my ‘delete’ key.  God knows how deep the fears and sorrows go – and how we need to hide in him and his love, at the end of the day.  He is a safe refuge.  Thanks for being patient readers, in any case!

#FiveMinuteFriday #fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Mighty

  1. Praying for special blessings for you this weekend. My mom is still with me and I am so blessed. I can’t imagine my adult years without her. Your story is so full of inspiriation. Thank you for sharing yourself.

    • Hi Marykat – thanks for popping by today. We are all surrounded by so many inspiring people. It’s good to celebrate them as we can, eh? Thanks also for your kind prayers… x

  2. Hi. Can I say that I am so grateful that your post is ahead of mine. I have watched so many pains pass by me this week. Many that reflect your own. One is of my own dear friend losing her mother. Feeling pretty hopeless on how to help. You reminded me that continuing to love her is what I can do. It is what I have been doing. Thanks for sharing your week and your might. This is my first time with Five Minute Friday, and I will definitely walk away blessed. You’re in my prayers today.

    • Hello Kelly! Welcome to #fiveminutefriday and thanks for joining in and commenting today. I’m so grateful these words have been helpful to you… yes, in our weakness, God can show his great strength. I’m also sure your presence is a great strength to your friend, even though you feel powerless to take her pain away. Praying for you both, too. x

    • Bless you Martha, and thank you for your kind words! Yes, I’m a Brit… that’s the Houses of Parliament in the background on my ‘about’ page!

  3. I wish you hadn’t deleted! I’ve found that when our mother’s cannot mother (for all kinds of reasons) – God sends us spiritual mothers to fill the void – and I am so glad you have one – that little lady upstairs. One of my spiritual mother’s told me – before she became my spiritual mother – “we so need to be needed.” Praying for you Ruth – that the mighty Father – fills your heart this week in that empty spot – with a blessing that goes two ways!

    • Thank you for your lovely comment. (btw even the lady pharmacist who just sold me some decongestant was very kind – some days God pours out that gentle motherly love in abundance from every quarter). Really glad to connect with you today. 🙂

  4. Ruth, Such a hard week for you! I am sending out prayers. Thank you for such an honest post. Your words are transparent with the realness of life. So glad I could connect with you through FMF. Blessings to you today!

    • Hi Cathy, thank you for your kind words and prayers… it’s been such a treat to share on FMF with so many lovely people – a real ‘soft landing’ for this week, and a mercy.

  5. Hi Ruth!
    It has been a true gift to have met you through FMF. Thank You for coming over to my little spot around this table. 😊
    Friend, I would give you a hug if I were near. Loss brings ache to the heart like nothing else. I pray God meets you right where you are in these next few days and weeks. May it be in mighty tangible ways and mighty quiet ways.
    You are not alone- the Almighty is standing with you as you take daily steps and stays crouched next to your weary bowed head when you weep. Let Him wrap you.
    {hugs}.
    Brandi

Leave a Reply

