Five Minute Friday: Choice

Taking five minutes today to write unedited on ‘choice’, along with a whole crowd of others at http://www.lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday #FiveMinuteFriday

GO

Choose life.  That’s the voice that springs to mind as I start to write on choice.  But then comes another thought:  when we come to the edge, we are afraid.

I have  a poem/card which tells that story.

‘Come to the edge, he said.
They said, we are afraid.
Come to the edge, he said.
They came.
He pushed them…
…and they flew. ‘
– Guillaume Appollinaire

And that’s the choice I’m often faced with.  It’s a choice to jump, not knowing if my wings will carry me.  It’s looking over the edge to certain disaster.  It’s a step of faith into the unknown.  It’s choosing to sacrifice, over languishing in heartless indifference.

What do I do?  Every fibre in me has been trained in self-preservation.  It’s the gift of God to me, the way he wired me.  And then he shows me Jesus, who says, ‘Take up your cross, and follow me.’

That’s not a journey to an easy life.  That’s sacrifice, and certain death.  But we know that it doesn’t end there.  There’s reward, there’s resurrection, and there’s joy.

That’s the choice.  Are we going to follow him, whatever happens?

STOP

#FiveMinuteFriday #fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Choice

  1. I don’t know why, but your post reminds me of the story of Icarus. If only he had listened to his father, his wings would have held together, and he would have been safe. Life is not easy, but I still choose to listen to God.

    Have a good day.
    Hugs,
    Melinda (visiting from FMF)

    • Hi Melinda! Thanks for your comment… I’m going to read up on Icarus now – a great story. Interestingly, Ruth 3:5 and Esther 2:20 showed up in my Bible readings this morning – both about young women who were obedient to their elders, and were blessed because they were! Hmm!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing the inspiring words by Guillaume Appollinaire. A great reminder to trust even when we are afraid. I need to write those words down and hang them where I will see them every day. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. Ruth, What lovely and amazing words! I agree that we are often at the edge with our decisions in life. It’s sometimes hard to know which decision to make. May we remember always to call on the Lord for His guidance. Take care, Patti (visiting from FMF)

Leave a Reply

