Five Minute Friday: Small

Taking five minutes with the #FiveMinuteFriday gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Lisa-Jo Baker.  This week its ‘small’.

GO

I took a small step today.  I drove only 10 minutes down the road and stepped into a whole new world.

I’ve never ridden a horse, but this morning I had the opportunity to meet a lady at a local stables.  As I drove up the driveway, my stomach lurched just a little with ‘what am I doing?’ and the car’s momentum rolled me right up to the parking area.  No turning back.

I walked curiously following the signs toward the reception area, taking in the sights and sounds.  Just a few yards.  It felt big.  I was pleasantly greeted, shown around, had the chance to find out more.  Everything a ‘first step’ needed to be.  And I was excited.

We met Chestnut, an adorable pony, ‘solid as a rock’ and a favourite with the smaller girls learning to ride.  He seemed a happy chap. All the cuter for being on the small end.  And he seemed to be fulfilling his destiny, offering himself to the adoring children week by week.

As I lingered after our meeting, taking in the sights and watching a lesson underway, another lady walked a huge horse up the alleyway behind me.  She paused, to adjust something, and as he waited for her, his face turned round toward me to greet me.  In his immense presence, I felt small, and the thought of learning to ride at all felt like a very large mountain before me.  Sure, I was intimidated.  But that horse proffered its nose in a way that invited me to step into the big adventure ahead.

She led him on, into the courtyard, and I watched her lead him to stand by the box-steps, and mount the horse.  Even such a giant can be ridden… and she rode off down the path ten feet tall and ready for anything.  I watched, face upturned, in awe.

Small steps.  Big adventures.

STOP

#FiveMinuteFriday #fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Small

    • Bless you! Yes… it was an experience that reawakened my childhood dreams – very strange. I felt like a little girl again, but everyone keeps saying to me ‘you’re never too old’ (or at least… do it now while you can still get off the horse by yourself!). Thanks for stopping by today.

Leave a Reply

