Five Minute Friday: Fight

Taking five minutes with the #FiveMinuteFriday gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Lisa-Jo Baker.  This week its Fight.

GO

Tangled fairy lightsI didn’t fight with the fairy lights this year.  I took my time.  Gently, gently, each bulb teased out of the tangled knot of green curly wires.  Each one placed and aimed through the transparent Christmas tree decorations, to shine perfectly and beautifully.  The whole process of tree decorating this year was one of art and appreciation, not fight and fury.  I think even the tree was glad of that – an artificial tree at that.

There are many other areas of my life that could do with the same care.  The same gentleness.  It’s one thing to take time over Christmas tree, but why do I take so little care over my own soul?  Why do I force myself to fit in a place where I do not truly fit?  Why pull and press myself, impatiently, intolerantly, into social situations or expectations that are ill-fitting?  Unlike Christmasses past, when I frustratedly fling the lights to the ground, through with the fight, this year I have relented, and been more gracious with myself.

It’s time to relinquish the habits and behaviours that are ill-fitting, and that refuse to bend to my constraining, driven agenda.  It’s time to let my soul show the shape that it truly is… to trust, to take the time it needs, and to gently unravel in the way that is natural.  Frustrated fight over.

 

STOP

#FiveMinuteFriday #fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Fight

  1. It’s time to let my soul show the shape that it truly is… to trust, to take the time it needs, and to gently unravel in the way that is natural.

    I found this thought to be inspiring. Thank you for sharing the lesson you learned from the fairy lights. I think many times a little less rushing and more careful attention are things that our souls need. II need to keep reminding myself that life is not an emergency. I am stopping by from Five Minute Friday. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

  2. Oh this, “It’s time to let my soul show the shape that it truly is… to trust, to take the time it needs, and to gently unravel in the way that is natural.” What a beautiful five minute write. Blessings!

  3. The same line that has touched others, touched me! “It’s time to let my soul show the shape that it truly is…” I love this post. Your writing is beautiful. I love the analogy of unraveling the lights and unraveling your soul.

    • Bless you Anne – thanks for visiting, and I’m so glad you found something worthwhile when you got here!! (It never ceases to amaze me – how we can encourage one another with our words…) Have a wonderful start to your New Year.

Leave a Reply

