Five Minute Friday: Fly

Taking five minutes with the #FiveMinuteFriday gang to write unedited on a theme sent out by Lisa-Jo Baker.  This week its ‘fly’.

GO

Red Kite - photo courtesy of the GuardianI feel like lead.  I’ve woken this morning under a cloud. It’s Friday, and I should be happy it’s nearly the weekend.  I’m not.  There’s a blue sky outside, empty branches lacing the fringes with whisps of cloud skirting the horizon like old-man’s beard on the hedgerow.  Despite the grey in my heart, that blue is lifting me.

It’s been almost an entire week since I’ve been able to get out in the fields before work – this horrible turn of weather has left me wanting to stay under my duvet till lunchtime.  I have to work, so I move.

There are usually red kites flying overhead in that familiar blue outside my bedroom window.  I can’t see a single one today.  They circle majestically, predatorially, eyeing me, mildly interested in me far below.  It seems strange without them, almost apocalyptic.  Strange that we often only notice things when they’re gone.

I miss them this morning… so I’ll post this and go out to find them in the field.

STOP

PS if there isn’t a word like ‘predatorially’ I think there should be one!

#FiveMinuteFriday #fmfparty
Five Minute Friday
2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Fly

    • Hello Katie! Thanks for visiting! In case you’re wondering – all is well… it’s not the end of the world!! I saw at least 3 kites out there this morning, circling as usual, but I often see more. Maybe they decided to stay in bed today, like any sensible animal would in these temperatures?

Leave a Reply

