Five Minute Friday: Grace

Taking five minutes with the #FiveMinuteFriday gang to write unedited on ‘Grace’.

GO

I spend my life waiting for the hammer to fall.  Cringing, expecting what is due.

The plumbing failed again last night, and I expected my downstairs neighbour to hammer the door again in painc, calling for an end to my assault on her premises.  Last time I spent weeks trying to make amends.  She was very kind.

Once, maybe.  But twice?  How could anyone offer grace twice over?

My battle is not with my neighbours.  It is with one more intimate than they.  He loves me more dearly, and feels the wounds of my omission more deeply.  You hurt most deeply those who are closest.

He loves more dearly.  He shows more grace.  And he shows that grace to me dialy, repeatedly, endlessly.

It’s so hard to receive.

STOP

#FiveMinuteFriday
Five Minute Friday
4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Grace

    • Isn’t it a wonderful thing to be able to be honest about it with others? Amen to your prayer – and may there be more grace in and through our lives today.

  1. I try to make profound comments when I visit from FMF. But honestly, all I can think of is, I love this. It’s beautiful and it touched me. Thanks.

    • Thank you all for stopping by this week, and for your kind words of encouragement. I know I wasn’t the only one to find this week’s prompt particularly challenging, and it’s amazing to think our efforts to find words on the subject have struck a chord for others. Blessings on your weekend.
      Ruth

Leave a Reply

