Catching sparks

A recent conversation and a drive home past a firework display soldered these thoughts together:

firework sparksMurky skies rend, and heaven invades the darkness. Shards of glory pierce our lives, like sparks flying out of a bursting firework sky.  Wide eyes gaze heavenward and we see a glorious vision, an explosion of life and hope and peace.  We see God putting the world right at the extreme and ultimate cost of his dear son’s sacrifice.  He has given all to turn the suffering, to light the darkness. So I catch the sparks, and sometimes they scorch me… but I hold them precious as they tell the truth of who is to come.  I have seen and felt reality now, and I am certain he is coming.

How do I lose sight of the glory to come?  Let me never imagine that the sparks of God’s goodness I see here and now are the full glory… or even close to it. These smoulderings are so dim, so small.  Still, it hurts to gaze into the Greater Glory; my eyes are accustomed to this darkness.

Nevertheless let me glimpse.  I am still waiting for the glories to come.

“And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it… And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.” John 1.1-18

Leave a Reply

